Clubs, Activities, and other After School Information

MVMMS offers many clubs and activities during the school year:

Below are the clubs and activities run by MVMMS with the meeting schedule. These meetings are subject to change and families should consult the daily bulletin for the latest updates and news regarding after school clubs and activities:

Club or ActivityMeeting ScheduleAdvisor with contact 
Art Club - Recreation Dept registration required

Mondays - Session 2 - 3/9-5/4

Susan Jerzsjerz@melroseschools.com
Basketball (Intramural)

Mondays, 2:50-3:30 - MVMMS Gym

Laura Dubielldubiel@melroseschools.com
Broadcast ClubTBDTBD 
Chess ClubThursdays 2:50-3:50 in A210Robert Mahoneyrmahoney@melroseschools.com
Creative Writing ClubTBDTBD 
Destination Imagination

Once a month on Wednesday in A304 @2:45

1/22, 2/26, 3/18, 4/29, 5/20

Gillian Victorgvictor@melroseschools.com
Drama ClubVisit Melrose Drama Website for information. Rehearsals Performances January 10th & 11th.Amelia Munson 
Drama Festival Team****Auditions in December***TBD 
Environmental ClubTuesdays, @2:45 room A213

Elizabeth

Grillo

egrillo@melroseschools.com
Flag Football (Intramural)Start in SpringLaura Dubielldubiel@melroseschools.com
Gay Straight AllianceTuesdays, 2:45 - 2nd floor Project Rm

Beth Colgan, 

Bert Whittier

bcolgan@melroseschools.com

bwhittier@melroseschools.com

Knitting Club

Thursdays, 2:50-3:40, room C210

 

Chelsea Slosberg

Elizabeth Petersen

cslosberg@melroseschools.com

epetersen@melroseschools.com

K-PopFridays, 2:45-3:30, room E119Melissa Allenmallen@melroseschools.com
Lego Club - Recreation Dept registration required

Tuesdays, 2:45-3:40, room A203

(Through Mid April)

Brian MacDonaldbmacdonald@melroseschools.com
Math Team*

Thursdays, 2:45, room C411.

Meet dates 1/16, 2/27, 4/2. 

Kasey Fritzkfritz@melroseschools.com
Math Counts Team*TBA

Kasey Fritz

kfritz@melroseschools.com
Melrose Youth BandThursdays, room E108 @3-4pmSharon Phippssphipps@melroseschools.com
Melrose Youth OrchestraTuesdays, room E108 Start date TBDLuke Millerlmiller@melroseschools.com
MVMMS AcapellaMondays, 2:45-3:30, room E107Kimberly Piperkpiper@melroseschools.com
Open Gym-Early Release Days12:45-2:41 with YMCA staff on MVMMS early release Wednesdays: 10/2, 11/13, 12/11, 1/8, 2/5, 3/4, 4/1, 5/6.MVMMS PTOmvmms.pto@gmail.com

Operation TBD

(8th grade)

One day per week during 8th grade lunchLtCol. Driscollmelroseveteransmemoryproject
Vex Robotics Team* (7th&8th)

Mondays & Wednesdays after school http://www.iraiders.org for information.

Avi Nagar

http://www.iraiders.org

Scratch Club

Mondays, 2:45-3:45Wendy Arnoldwarnold@melroseschools.com
Select ChorusMondays, 2:45-3:30, room E107Kimberly Piperkpiper@melroseschools.com
Student CouncilThursdays, 2:45 room A304Gillian Victorgvictor@melroseschools.com
Soccer (Intramural)Start in SpringLaura Dubielldubiel@melroseschools.com
Social Justice ClubTBDTBD

TBD

Tennis (Intramural)Start in SpringLaura Dubielldubiel@melroseschools.com

Yearbook Club

(8th grade)

Thursdays, @2:45 location varies,

Susan Jerz,

Robert Jackson

sjerz@melroseschools.com 

rjackson@melroseschools.com

*Academic/Competitive Teams.

The Melrose Recreation Department runs several after school programs for middle school aged students. These are not MVMMS sponsored programs, but we do support student participation and partner with the Recreation Department to get kids involved. For more information or to register for Recreation Dept. Programs – please contact the Melrose Recreation Department here or by emailing recreation@cityofmelrose.org.